Asia Media Summit 2022

Government of Republic of Fiji is parterning with AIBD for upcoming first-ever virtual Asia Media Summit from 23-26 May 2022.


What are you looking for?

Image Alt


>World TV Awards >Winners of World Television Awards 2019

Winners of World Television Awards 2019


Winners of the World Television Awards (WTA) was announced in the Awards ceremony in Siem Reap, Cambodia. The event took place right before the closing ceremony of Asia Media Summit 2019.

WTA had two categories, and this year they focused on the most relevant issues in the respective areas, which was ‘Technology and Humanity – The Impact’ for the Category Humanity, while Category Science and Environment sought to focus on the pollution with the aptly titled ‘Taming the Sea of Plastic’.

The ceremony was grace by the presence of Honourable Minister of Information Cambodia H.E Dr Khieu Kanharith.

The ceremony began with Mr John Maguire Director of International Relations and Cooperation France Médias Monde, who served as the chairperson for the jury session, by giving an overview on the judging and the entries for this year, during his speech he remarked upon the necessity of such awards and for the participants to follow the brief of the categories.

Arab State Broadcasting Union (ASBU) was the main sponsored the Category Humanity. Mr Taleb Kadi Amin, Director of Arab League Arab States Broadcasting Union, Radio and TV Arab Training Center, delivered a speech on behalf of Mr Abdul Rahim Suleiman, Director-General of the Arab States Broadcasting Union (ASBU). The 1st place was won by MediaCorp, Channel News Asia, Singapore for the documentary ‘Becoming Human: Coding Morality’. Mr Chong Yew Meng who is the programme’s producer was presented the Awards’ trophy and certificate by Mr Saad Muhammed Al Juarias, Vice Chairman of ASBU.

Honourable Minister of Information Cambodia H.E Dr Khieu Kanharith, presented the award and the certificate for the winner of the Category Science and Environment. The Best TV Programme for this category was won by “Plastic Earth” produced by Mr Chul-hoon Song from KBS 1 from Korea. This category was sponsored by the LG Uplus.

During the ceremony Mr Fayyaz Shehryar, President AIBD and Ms Philomena Gnanapragasam, Officiating Director of AIBD accompanied Honourable Minister of Information Cambodia H.E Dr Khieu Kanharith on the stage and congratulated the award winners.

The runners-up for the World Television Awards are:

Category Humanity: Astropreneurs: To the Stars & Beyond by Inez Ana, 

Mediacorp, Singapore,


Category Science and Environment: Trash Hero Thailand, Tlejourn

by Prasan Ingkanunt, Thai PBS from Thailand