World Awards


With the aim of recognising the crucial role played by media in promoting the awareness of the audience on major issues such as cultural diversity, religious understanding, tolerance and peace, the World TV Award was initiated in 2004 under the Category Humanity.  "Religious Understanding" and "Conflict Resolution" were the initial topics.  In 2013, these were replaced by "Natural Disaster" and "Children's Rights". The major sponsor for this category is the Arab States Broadcasting Union (ASBU).

In 2011, AIBD launched the World TV Award, Category Science & Environment in collaboration with United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP).

In 2017, a new topic for the Humanity category was announced: “Combating Poverty”.

The World TV Awards are open to broadcasters worldwide from public, private sector and freelance producers.

AIBD in collaboration with its global partners presents the World Television Awards 2018.

The World TV Awards are open to all broadcasters in Asia, Pacific, Europe, Africa, and North & South America from public, private sector and freelance producers.

“The Winner Prize” consists of US$ 5,000.00 cash, a trophy and a certificate presented by AIBD per Award category.

For 2018, the two World TV Awards categories are:

·         Category Humanity for the Best TV Documentary on "Immigration or Migration"

·         Category Science/Environment for the Best TV Programme on "Clean Water for Life"

Winners will be presented with their Awards during the Asia Media Summit to be held in New Delhi, India, from 10 - 12 May 2018, a global gathering of broadcasters.

The deadline for programme submission is 12th March 2018.

Criteria & Entry forms are available under "Form & application"

The World TV Awards 2018 are supported by Arab States Broadcasting Union (ASBU), Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM), France Médias Monde and Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD).


WTA 2018 Entry Forms

WTA Criteria Humanity 2018.pdf211.85 KB
WTA Humanity Entry Form 2018.pdf143 KB
WTA Science Criteria 2018.pdf195.82 KB
WTA Science Entry Form 2018.pdf121.27 KB

The winners and runners-up of the World TV Awards 2017 were announced on the 7 June during the Asia Media Summit which took place in Qingdao, China.

"Driving the Change”, broadcast by EMTV – Papua New Guinea and directed by Mr Marcos Venditti won the Award under Humanity Category for the Best TV Documentary on "Combating Poverty".

Mr Chang Jin, Director of AIBD, and Mr John Maguire, Director of International Relations and Cooperation of France Médias Monde, who jointly announced the winner, presented a trophy and certificate to Mr Venditti.

Mr John Maguire, Mr Marcos Venditti, Mr Chang Jin
(From left to right)

"Earth, Our Only Planet – Rediscovery of Po" directed by Mr Chan Seok Heo and broadcast by EBS – Korea was the winner for the best TV Programme on "Sustainable Energy for All", under the category Science/Environment.

Mr Chang Jin and Mr John Maguire presented the trophy and certificate to Ms Hu Mendgie, Marketing Manager EBS – Korea, who represented Mr Chan Seok Heo, who was not able to attend the ceremony.

For each category the winners will receive a cash prize of US$5,000.

Mr John Maguire, Ms Hu Mendgie, Mr Chang Jin
(From left to right)

As the Chairperson of the jury for the World Television Awards 2017, Mr John Maguire, explained the selection process of the Awards during the ceremony.

The runner-up for the category Humanity was “Field Guide to Innovation – Root of Innovation”, directed by Amelia Su and broadcast by Mediacorp Pte Ltd, Channel NewsAsia, Singapore.

“Solar Power: Green Energy for Green Environment", directed by Md Imam Hossain and broadcast by Bangladesh Television (BTV) was the runner-up for the category Science/Environment.

The World TV Awards 2017 were supported by Arab States Broadcasting Union (ASBU), Radio Television Malaysia (RTM) and Islamic Broadcasting Union (IBU), France Médias Monde, Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD)