Cambodia elected as EXBO Chairman

Submitted by admin on Wed, 09/04/2019 - 15:38

AIBD’s Executive Board (EXBO) has elected Cambodia as its new chairman following the new composition of its membership. Fiji was chosen as its Vice Chairman. Both countries will serve the post for a period of one year,  and  are eligible for reelection after serving their term. 

Election of additional members to the 10-man board was held during the 45th General Conference in Poro, Bhutan on 23 August 2019.

Two new members were elected, namely, Thailand and Fiji. Both countries will serve from 2019 to 2021.

GC members also approved Malaysia’s proposal to be returned to the EXBO as a permanent member based on the provisions of the August 1977 Agreement between AIBD and Malaysia that, among others, established the AIBD Governing Council or EXBO.

That document also cited that the EXBO will have 11 members, one being Malaysia, which is AIBD’s host country, as a permanent member.

Mr. Fayyaz Shehryar, AIBD President, said he found it bizarre that Malaysia, host country of AIBD, is divested of its status as a permanent member of EXBO.

The Board is now composed of Maldives, Bhutan, Cambodia, Iran, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, plus the two newly elected, Thailand and Fiji.

During the 17th EXBO meeting in Paro, Bhutan on 22 August 2019, members  took serious note of the absence of the EXBO chairman from Pakistan and vice chairman from Maldives without written excuse.

In view of this development,  Dr Khieu Kanharith, Minister of Information, Cambodia, accepted the nomination to serve as the interim EXBO chairman while Mr Suresh Kumar Karki, Executive Director of Radio Nepal, was interim EXBO vice chairman.