Key Sri Lankan Officials to Open AIBD General Conference

Key government officials of Sri Lanka will grace the Inaugural Ceremony of the AIBD 44th Annual Gathering and 17th General Conference & Associated Meetings in Colombo on 2nd August 2018.

Close to 60 AIBD delegates are attending the meetings that will review the Institute’s year-long achievements and examine future plans to meet their training needs and other development concerns. The General Conference will also elect its President, Vice President and some members of the Executive Board.

Mr Mangala Samaraweera, Minister of Finance and Mass Media of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, will deliver the keynote address while Dr Abbas Taheri, President of the AIBD General Conference and Advisor to IRIB President and Director General of International Affairs, Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting, will deliver the welcome remarks.

Mr John Amaratunga, Sri Lankan Minister of Tourism Development and Christian Religious Affairs, will also address the conference.

During the Inaugural Ceremony, top officials of the Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation (SLRC), host of this year’s General Conference, will also grace the event. They are Ms Inoka Satyangani Keethinanda, SLRC Chairperson, and Mr Thusira Malawwethantri, SLRC Director General, who will deliver the opening remarks on behalf of the host organising committee.

Another highlight of the ceremony is the presentation of the AIBD Awards 2018. These include the   AIBD TV Award for the Best TV Programme on Youth Mental Health, AIBD TV Award for the Best TV Programme on Netizens for Uplifting society through internet, AIBD Radio Award for the Best Radio Programme on Diversity through Sports, and the Reinhard Keune Memorial Award for the Best Radio Programme on Uplifting Communities through Sustainable Tourism.

  • AIBD category: