AIBD Bids Farewell to Director Yang Binyuan

Submitted by admin on Tue, 09/02/2014 - 15:08

Mr. Yang Binyuan announced his decision to resign from the post as Director of AIBD effective 15 September 2014, due to family reasons. As an expression of the gratitude for his years of service and efforts for the Institute the AIBD staff arranged a farewell ceremony on Friday, 29 August 2014.

During the ceremony, Mr. Binyuan was presented with a plaque with the engraving, “In recognition of your invaluable contribution and service towards the Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD). All the best wishes for the future.” Along with this, he was given a token of appreciation on behalf of all the AIBD staff.

AIBD Deputy Director Mr. Marcel Gomez thanked Mr. Binyuan for all his great leadership and notable contributions made during his time at the helm of the Institute. Mr. Gomez sincerely wished him the best in his future endeavors, as he will return back to his home country of China.

Mr. Henning Effner, Director of FES Media Asia, Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES), one of the most important partners of AIBD, also presented Mr. Binyuan with a token of appreciation.

Mr. Binyuan took the opportunity to personally thank each staff member present and extend his appreciation to each individually for their support and contribution during his time. He conveyed how this period at AIBD was one of the most significant for him in his life and brought his immense satisfaction. While he expressed his regret at having to leave, he noted that this was not a final goodbye as he intended to visit often and keep involved with the Institute as it looks ahead.

Mr. Binyuan served as AIBD Director from 2010 to 2014. He is the first Chinese national to lead the international organisation in the field of electronic media development. Prior to this, he was Deputy Director of the Office of International Cooperation of China Radio International (CRI), and Head of Broadcast of the Beijing Olympic Organizing Committee (BOCOG) and Secretary-General of the International Broadcast Centre (IBC) of Beijing 2008 Olympic Games.